Deployments
Most AI medical devices support a clinician; a few decide alone
LumineticsCore, authorized in 2018, screens for diabetic retinopathy with no clinician reading the image. Yukun, United Imaging, Infervision and Deepwise hold 59 NMPA approvals between them, mostly for CT. Apple Watch hypertension alerts reach users in more than 150 countries and regions.
| Deployment | Developer / operator | Where | Scale | Autonomy | Status | Controls declared |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LumineticsCore (formerly IDx-DR) | Digital Diagnostics / US primary-care clinics | US | Not disclosed (2018) | Autonomous diagnosis | FDA De Novo | Not disclosed |
| Chinese radiology AI (Yukun, United Imaging, Infervision, Deepwise) | Several / Chinese hospitals | China; United Imaging also in Europe | 59 NMPA approvals across the four (Jun 2025) | Decision support | Approved | Not disclosed |
Recent events
- The FDA warned WHOOP in July 2025 over blood-pressure insights, then loosened wellness guidance in January 2026.
- Radiology accounts for 106 of China's 154 NMPA AI devices.
- Beijing, Shanghai, Shenzhen and Hangzhou hold about 78% of NMPA AI approvals.
- The FDA list counts 335 AI devices with 2025 decisions, the most of any year.
Attack surface
Four of ten attack-surface dimensions rate very significant or critical
No dimension rates critical. Ratings use five levels, from limited to critical, and cover the paths an attacker or a failure can take into the agent.
| Dimension | Rating | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Physical access | Significant | Device hardware in clinical and home environments |
| Identity and authentication | Significant | Clinician credentials, patient identification, EHR integration accounts |
| Command and control channels | Significant | Clinical workflow integration, vendor backends, remote configuration |
| Perception and sensors | Very significant | Medical imaging, biosensors, ECG, glucose, vital signs |
| Connectivity surface | Significant | Hospital network, EHR integration, cloud services for AI processing, vendor backends |
| OTA and update pipeline | Very significant | FDA SaMD updates flow through manufacturer infrastructure |
| Data capture and retention | Very significant | Protected health information under HIPAA |
| Integrations and permissions | Significant | EHR integration via HL7/FHIR, PACS integration, billing systems, clinical workflows |
| Behavioral and policy boundary | Very significant | Clinical decision support policy, intended use bounds, escalation thresholds |
| Multi-agent coordination | Moderate, growing | Multiple AI systems integrated into clinical workflows produce interaction surface |
Incidents
No registry incident involves medical devices yet
The 137AI Incident Registry logs an incident when an agent's failure or misuse caused harm or a regulator acted, and public sources name the developer, the failed control and how it was found. No medical devices case meets that bar yet. Candidates go on the review list in the registry methodology.
Rules
The FDA lets AI devices update within pre-approved limits; the EU pushed its deadline to 2028
| Rule | Jurisdiction | What it requires | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA PCCP final guidance | US | Pre-authorized boundaries for AI model updates | Final Dec 4, 2024 |
| FDA AI-enabled device lifecycle guidance | US | Lifecycle and submission recommendations | Draft Jan 6, 2025 |
| FDA CDS and general wellness guidances | US | Enforcement discretion for some decision support; wider wellness scope | Jan 2026 |
| EU AI Act Digital Omnibus | EU | Medical-device AI high-risk duties moved to Aug 2, 2028 | Political deal May 2026 |
| NMPA Class III registration | China | Clinical trials for high-risk AI devices | In force |
Status colors: green in force, blue voluntary standard or framework, amber adopted and phasing in, gray draft or pending, red withdrawn.
Record
Page Record
- Agent class
- Personal and ambient
- Datasets
- ai_deployments.csv (2 rows for this page); ai_attack_surface.csv (10 rows); ai_incidents.csv (0 linked)
- Key sources
- FDA AI device list tally (Complizen)
NMPA study (JMIR)
FDA PCCP (Ropes and Gray) - Last verified
- October 2026